RSS

Garlic Cream Sauce Pasta & Chicken

02 Mar

This is a fairly quick, easy yummy sauce to make that you can serve over chicken and pasta both.

Boneless Chicken Tenderloins or Boneless Chicken Fillets

2 TBLS Olive Oil

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

salt

2 shallots, chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup white wine (your choice, dry or white)

1 1/2 cups chicken broth (not bouillon)

1/2 tsp tumeric

1/2 cut heavy whipping cream

3 TBLS chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves

1/2 cup parmesan cheese – shredded

Cook your boneless chicken filets or tenderloins in Olive Oil over high heat for 3 – 4 minutes on each side or until cooked through and golden. Salt and Pepper the chicken while cooking. Once cooked, remove the chicken to a plate and cover to keep warm.

Turn the heat down to medium and add the chopped garlic and the chopped shallots to the fry pan and cook until tender ~ 2 to 3 minutes.

By the way…. this is a shallot:

it comes in a package that looks like this: 🙂

Then add the white wine….with a wooden spoon, scrape all the brown bits from frying the chicken from the bottom of the pan.

Cook until the wine is partially evaporated. Add the chicken broth and tumeric. Bring the mixture to a simmer and cook for about 10 minutes (or until liquid is reduce by about half.) Add the cream, salt and pepper. Add the parmesan cheese. Simmer for a minute or two to blend the flavors. Stir in the parsley….

Spoon some of the sauce over the chicken…

Mix the rest of the sauce into your favorite pasta (along with a little extra parmesan 🙂

Serve with your favorite vegetable…

we just opened some cans tonight 🙂 but if I was more ambitious, I might have steamed some broccoli & cauliflower or stirfried some veges like squashes and such….but I was in a hurry to watch American Idol… 🙂

Enjoy 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2011 in Chicken Dishes, Pasta

 

5 responses to “Garlic Cream Sauce Pasta & Chicken

  1. Beth

    March 2, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    Mmmmm!!.I can actually smell the garlic cooking!! Wait!! That’s because I have something cooking on the stove with LOTS of garlic in it…lol!! This looks really yummy. I would make a couple of changes for myself because, well, I’m trying to eat better and drop some lbs so I’m a healtheir weight. I would use evaporated skim milk and/or fat-free half and half (I’d have to experiment with it). Then, for the pasta, I would use whole wheat pasta mixed half and half with broccoli slaw (cooked in with the pasta for the last half of the cooking time). I’m adding this to my list of recipes to try soon. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

     
    • Victoria

      March 3, 2011 at 6:28 am

      Hahaha….you’re too funny! lol I thought at first, wow, Beth really gets into these pictures so much that she can actually smell them….hahaha….

      I actually cheated too….I typed what you’re spose to put in the recipe and what would make it really really insanely good….(the heavy whipping cream) but, I also used skim milk instead of heavy whipping cream. The biggest problem in using skim milk is that it doesn’t have any thickening properties then….so I took a little of the chicken broth and mixed a Tablespoon or so of cornstarch together really good….then after the chicken/wine mixture is boiling, add the cornstarch mixture slowly while stirring….anyway, you know how to thicken…lol. But the sauce made with skim milk was surprisingly good!!

      The real recipe also called for saffron, but I didn’t have any so I substituted Tumeric. I want to try it sometime with saffron as well though…..that will probably give it a whole different flavor!! But it was very good with Tumeric as well. I rarely ever make a recipe exactly like it says anymore….I like to experiment with spices.

      Wow, your broccoli slaw idea sounds awesome!! I’d love that recipe and I’d love to hear how it turns out! Yum, yum, yum!! (Lecker!!)

       
      • Beth Van Dyche

        March 3, 2011 at 9:17 pm

        The reason I would try evaporated skim milk is because it’s thicker than regular skim milk. Your cornstarch idea is a good one as well.

        I like experimenting with spices, too.

        I got the broccoli slaw idea, I think, from the cooking show Cooking Yourself Thin. I can’t remember anymore. I have been getting ideas from them as well as from Hungry Girl.

         
  2. Victoria

    March 5, 2011 at 7:07 am

    Yes, that’s a good idea Beth…..I just don’t like the flavor of evaporated milk much…..I did like your idea of using half & half though! There’s just nothing like the flavor when you use real heavy cream. I made an alfredo sauce once with heavy whipping cream – oh my goodness, it was soooooo good…but you know only about 1000 calories per bite….lol.
    So worth it – haha……

     
    • Victoria

      March 21, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      BTW Beth, I take back what I said about Evaporated milk. I have used it in baking before, but never tried it in Cooking dishes on top the stove. But I was trying to make some Alfredo sauce the other day and didn’t have any milk…so I thought, “I wonder…” and grabbed a can of Evaporated milk. It was Fabulous! Couldn’t even tell that it wasn’t regular milk….so I’m eating my words ….…..hcum klim detaropave fo rovalf eht ekil t’nod tsuj I 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
