RSS

Moussaka

12 Jul

Moussaka is a Greek dish, but also made and served all over the Mediterranean world. I have combined 3 different recipes to come up with this recipe. There are many variations to this dish. If you don’t like this combination, then simply google “Moussaka” and you will get many variations of the recipe and many videos showing you exactly how it is made.

I have taken pictures of the steps so you can see how to make it. We are having it for lunch today…I will let you know how it was received by my company :).

DSC00980

This is my first time cooking with eggplant, but I grew it in my garden, so I had to find a recipe :). To me, it smells a little bit like cucumber.

DSC00981

After slicing 3 small eggplants (about 2/3 inch slices), I laid them on paper towels. Then I sprinkled each slice with salt and let them sit for about 1/2 hr while I continued in the preparation of the dish. This is to “sweat” the eggplant (pull out some of the juice) before cooking.

DSC00983

DSC00986

DSC00989

DSC00990

DSC00993

While your eggplant is “sweating” , you can prepare the white sauce:

**In a saucepan, over medium heat, mix together:

– 6 TBLS Butter

– 6 TBLS Flour

Whisk the butter and flour until well blended. Then slowly add:

– 3 cups milk

Gently bring to a boil, stirring, and simmer for a couple of minutes. Whisk a cup of this mixture into:

– 3 eggs, well beaten

Whisk the egg mixture back into the white sauce and continue to simmer, whisking/stirring until thick. DO NOT BOIL!!ย  Add:

– ~ 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

– dash Hot sauce (of your choosing)

To the white sauce, add:

– 1 cup mozarella cheese (shredded)

– 1 cup Parmesan cheese (shredded)

Stir until melted…set aside to cool. (This can be made ahead of time and refrigerated until ready to use).

DSC01000

to make your Red Sauce you can use tomato sauce or spaghetti sauce, but you will need 8 oz. of it.

To the tomato/spaghetti sauce, add:

– 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

– 1 tsp. dried, crushed oregano

– 1 TBLS parsley

– 2 TBLS sugar

– a bit of salt and pepper

Simmer gently until warmed. This can be made ahead of time and refrigerated until ready to use.

DSC00999

Meat preparation:

– 1 lb. hamburgerย  ORย  1 lb. lamb (ground

– 1 large onion, chopped

– 3 cloves garlic, pressed and chopped

– 2 TBLS ground Cumin

– 1 tsp. crushed Oregano

– cracked or ground pepper (to taste)

Brown meat well in frying pan, add onion, cumin, chopped garlic, oregano and pepper. Saute until onion is tender.

Eggplant preparation:

After the eggplant have sweat for ~ 1/2 hr….pat dry with paper towels and shake them in a bag of flour and ground black pepper. Brown the eggplant in the frypan in a very small amount of olive oil. Eggplant will absorb the oil, so be careful not to use too much!

DSC01002

DSC01004

DSC01006

Assembling the Moussaka:

In a 9×13 casserole dish Layer the following:

– Fried Eggplant (you can trim to fit, or just overlap)

– 1/2 meat mixture

– 1/2 White sauce mixture

– All of the red sauce mixture

– Repeat with Eggplant, meat and White sauce.

You can garnish with a little red pepper or paparika and some more coursely shredded parmesan cheese (if you choose)

Cover and bake at 350 degrees for an hour, uncover and bake until browned on top.

Serve Moussaka with a green salad, black olives, a good bread and a bottle of light red wine.

DSC01015

Then don’t forget to….

DSC010144

Enjoy!! ๐Ÿ™‚

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2009 in Eggplant Dishes

 

7 responses to “Moussaka

  1. vickyvp

    July 12, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I have to say that after making this dish and then eating some…I am a fan of eggplant! This was sooo good! I wondered about putting cinnamon in the red sauce, but it was absolutely the perfect ingredient and complimented the dish very well!!

     
  2. Sandy Sholar

    July 13, 2009 at 1:05 am

    Vicky, it was the lamb that did me in….I just don’t like the flavor. Eggplant is good. You sure did spend a lot of time doing that and taking pics. I need to find a creative outlet for myself but it won’t be cooking.

     
    • vickyvp

      July 13, 2009 at 5:28 am

      Hey Sandy…I understand about the lamb. But you don’t have to make it with lamb (for this recipe, I used hamburger). Also, you could just leave out the meat altogether and make it vegetarian…or you could probably use chicken, if you wanted.

      It was fun to make…and I love cooking, so to me, it’s not really work. The clean-up part after wards is the work! ๐Ÿ˜›

       
  3. carol

    July 13, 2009 at 2:09 am

    that’s amazing, sis! what a beautiful dish……now i must try this! Thank you for being my big awesome sista! : )

     
    • vickyvp

      July 13, 2009 at 5:29 am

      Thanks Carol! You will have to try this dish…you love cooking as much as I do and it was fun to make! I just have to find a way to make all that cheesy white sauce have 0 calories ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Love you!

       
  4. Lisa

    July 15, 2009 at 1:26 am

    “Moose caca?” (My Big Fat Greek Wedding reference)

    Well, I was all in until I saw the boatload of cumin it called for. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love eggplant. Eggplant parmesan is killer good! And I had some eggplant on pizza just a couple of days ago. Fabulous!

    Good job with the photos. I don’t do that because my kitchen lighting is so sucky for photos. I’d like to do play-by-play photos, though.

     
    • vickyvp

      July 15, 2009 at 9:46 pm

      Hey Lisa…haha…I love that movie.

      That’s not a “boatload” of cumin, btw…it’s only 2 tsp ๐Ÿ™‚

      Wow…that’s a good idea…eggplant and cumin on pizza ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks for the compliment ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you’re back!

       

Leave a Reply

 
